Bread is Art

In an effort to eat natural, clean foods, I have ventured into bread baking for le homestead {have you seen the ingredient list on most store-bought breads?!}. Having mastered pretzel rolls {great recipe & instructional here}

and french bread loaves {ala Betty Crocker}

I tried my hand at a pâte fermenté & made crusty french boules – they were definitely worth the extra effort

Perfectly crusty & chewy with great flavor. I made these from a great recipe via Cooking Light here. Yeast, flour, water.  C‘est tout! I think I’ll just always have a pâte fermentée brewing in the fridge so store-bought will never be necessary. Enjoy!

“How can a nation be great if its bread tastes like Kleenex?” ~Julia Child

Leave a Reply

